Lessons From My Dad’s Heart Surgery

Me and Dad when I graduated from Rowan University in 2012.

For those who might not have known, my father recently needed heart surgery. Even though countless people have told me (my father included) that it was a routine surgery and that I shouldn’t worry, I of course, worried. I did the thing where my nervousness manifested itself in the form of me talking about anything and everything. Hey, I didn’t win “Most Talkative” in high school for nothing (apparently it was a landslide). Nothing was more nerve wracking than sitting in the OR waiting room. They were literally cutting my Dad’s chest open and poking around his heart. My chest is hurting just thinking about it. Interestingly, there was a television screen that tracked the status of the patient. I honestly felt like I was waiting for a plane. “Oh look, Dad’s boarding” was all I could think. Anyway…

I have been doing a lot of thinking about the blockages in my Dad’s chest and it honestly scares me. I know things like this are a little bit genetic and I know that things like this aren’t helped when the person doesn’t take care of themselves. I have a confession to make: I am not taking good care of myself. I don’t smoke, I don’t drink a whole lot, and I generally try to eat healthily. My eating habits are inconsistent and I have trouble finding the time to work out. I know exercise is an important component to one’s health. Duh.

I have officially completed my graduate studies. Seven years later, I have completed my schooling. Two Bachelors, a Minor, a Teaching Cert, and a shiny new Master’s Degree. I am beginning my career now and it is time for some change to some of my habits. I will be starting to workout again. I am reworking my diet. My father did not do these things when he had the chance and he just had heart surgery. It was terrifying, absolutely terrifying to see my father all tubed up after his surgery. I do not wish to go through with that. Its time for me to take control again.

It is time for a comeback.

KB

Leave a Reply

