The Summer of the Concert: Kelly Clarkson and Pentatonix

This summer I have decided that rather than just buy myself presents I should buy experiences and memories. Thus comes my proclamation that this summer will be the summer of the concert! I have 3 big shows I am going to and I am pumped for all of them. The first one was Kelly Clarkson and opener, Pentatonix.

Pentatonix

I am a huge fan of the film Pitch Perfect, so I totally dig the idea of acapella music. I know Pentatonix is probably the most famous acapella group out there right now, and for good reason. Their set was short, but it was packed with impressive vocals, arrangements, and beat boxing. They are truly sensational live. I really enjoyed them.

If you get the chance to see the OG American Idol, Kelly Clarkson, live, I highly suggest you take it. She was absolutely stunning live. She opened the show with a new song from her album and closed with her signature song, Since U Been Gone. Her voice live is chill inducing. She sang the song “Tightrope,” a song that I am not a fan of in its recorded state, so perfectly and passionately that I was moved. See the video and some of her talking to the crowd below. Multiple times she left me speechless with her voice. Kelly Clarkson is the original and face of the American Idol franchise for good reason. She is such a great person live too, she is funny and charming.

I have been a fan of Kelly Clarkson and American Idol for awhile now and I am happy that I got to see the original Idol live. Her music is some of my favorite of all time. I just want to take a second to post the audio of my favorite song off her new album “Good Goes the Bye.” I have yet to hear a break up song that hits so close to home or feels so close to what I went through recently. The lyrics in this song are a perfect description of what I felt. “Its loud and its quiet at the same time”- perfection. Give it a listen.

For good measure, here was the set list from the show as well as a link to see some videos of Kelly singing live:

  1. Dance With Me
  2. My Life Would Suck Without You
  3. Dark Side
  4. Mr. Know It All
  5. Nostalgic
  6. Nobody Love (by Tori Kelly)
  7. Invincible
  8. Because of You/Don’t You Wanna Stay/Breakaway medley
  9. Tightrope
  10. Piece By Piece
  11. Take You High
  12. Behind These Hazel Eyes
  13. War Paint
  14. Stronger
  15. Heartbeat Song (featuring opener, Pentatonix)
  16. Uptown Funk / Walk Away mashup
  17. Bang Bang by Jesse J. (Encore, her back up singers started this one)
  18. Since U Been Gone (Encore)

http://www.mjsbigblog.com/kelly-clarkson-pentatonix-kick-off-summer-tour-videos.htm

One thought on “The Summer of the Concert: Kelly Clarkson and Pentatonix

Leave a Reply

