2016 Was A Weird, Wonderful, Year.

img_0495_result
Niagara Falls

This was a weird, wonderful, year. One thing that I keep hearing is how awful this year was. It was for a lot of people and I know some folks who are close to me who had some challenging things happen to them this year.

Let me get this out of the way: The election and its outcome made the year awful. For a lot of reasons. I’m going to leave it at that.

With all of the bad that happened, as I reflect on my year I am discovering that just the opposite happened for me personally. Here is how.

Here is a list of the places I went to this year:

  1. Ketchikan, Alaska
  2. Skagway, Alaska
  3. Juneau, Alaska
  4. Seattle, WA
  5. Victoria, Canada
  6. Montreal, Canada
  7. Toronto, Canada
  8. Niagara Falls
  9. Buffalo, NY
  10. Rochester, NY
  11. Wilmington, NC
img_0746_result
View from the boat at sunset.
img_0761_result
Pulling into Port at Ketchikan, Alaska. It was beautiful.

I did something that I never thought I would do (because of an irrational fear of the open ocean after watching the movie Titanic) and I took a cruise from Seattle up to the inside passage of Alaska. I stood next to glaciers. I saw bald eagles. I hiked in the woods of Ketchikan. I went up the White Pass via train and took in probably the most beautiful landscapes I have ever seen in my life. I went to the top of the Space Needle, defying my fear of heights. I got my first tattoo in Seattle, defying an aversion to needles. I ate in the China town of Montreal. I went to Niagra Falls. I ate at the restaurant where they made the first buffalo wings. I visited my Aunt and Uncle in Wilmington, North Carolina for the first time in almost 15 years. I saw Beyonce in Pittsburgh and I saw Sir Paul McCartney in Philly. I figure I should see some of our legends before they are gone.

I did things and I did them for me.

13458683_10153669303098201_7190887185537280390_o
My first tattoo!

I made my health a goal this year and despite some ups and downs with that I am chalking that up as a win. In particular, I made my mental health a priority. Due to that prioritization I can confidently say that somewhere along the way this year: I found my footing again. What’s funny is that I didn’t even realize it.

Professionally, I took on more responsibility in a new community. I moved into a new apartment in that building. It was a chance to start some things fresh. I noticed that other events that have happened this year are also pointing to an opportunity to start some things fresh. I am confident that if I keep on, I will make 2017 the best year yet. After all, 2016 was a pretty good one.

Happy New Year!

KB

Leave a Reply

